[Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills] Review| Yao Qian: May It Be a Song

Lecturer Introduction  

 

Mr.YAO Qian -

Musician, Lyricist and Collector

 

Mr. YAO Qian is a lyricist and manager in music industry. As a lyricist, he won numerous awards and great popularity for his representative lyrics such as "I’m Willing" and "Perhaps Love", etc. He has dedicated his time to both music creation and management for the past 30 years, during which he had served as General Manager of EMI, Virgin, and Sony in Taiwan. YAO is also keen on film, literature and travelling. 

 

      The Most Familiar Stranger    

png

Facing the poster with a strong color contrast of red and green, you might feel that the curly haired uncle in sunglasses should bound to have lots of fantastic adventures. While listening to the song "The Most Familiar Stranger", you might have thought that there must be immortal love stories one after another. However, it is our habit to judge a person by tags. Chances are it is totally different from the facts. 

 

In the lecture of Mr. YAO Qian, most of us found our judgment was wrong when he gently walked up to the stage.

 

 

The World of Songs          

png

 

There were fantastic stories such as conquering the top of Africa in 7 days, moving love tales and an impulsive Dong girl with a regretful marriage. These stories were mixed with tears, resolves and hardship. They were not love stories with an abrupt end or of no end, but were infused as inspiration in the ballad of the Dong’s.

 

Audience said that by this lecture, many things were finally clear. We are pleased to share with you the world of songs that were created by Mr. YAO Qian in our 5th "Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills" Lecture Series. 

 

          Your Time is Yours          

 

Yao said, "For nearly 20 years in the music record industry, it is high time to get back my ownership of time."

 

Time makes life, while we all have the right to own our time. Life sucks sometimes, and we are trapped by the trivialities. We compromise again and again but still find it hard to be happy, not being able to withdraw the time we have paid. Men are small. Living a life is like dreaming a big dream. The truest is the word 'happy'. Why not try to earn our time back for the truest feeling deep inside?

 

          The Freedom of Soul          

 

Yao said, "Do the thing you care and love the most."

 

Owning the time is for the freedom of soul. When can it be free? – when you are doing the things that you care and love the most, which can make you feel most your value, your sense of existence and satisfaction. Interestingly, these are the things you do when you feel time goes too fast. It’s like being with the people you like, not realizing that a few hours have passed. Most people have become timeservers, but I hope you are not one. Wish you could find your freedom which is as brilliant as fire. 

 

 

          The Freedom of Soul         

 

Yao said, "Do the thing you care and love the most."

 

Owning the time is for the freedom of soul. When can it be free? – when you are doing the things that you care and love the most, which can make you feel most your value, your sense of existence and satisfaction. Interestingly, these are the things you do when you feel time goes too fast. It’s like being with the people you like, not realizing that a few hours have passed. Most people have become timeservers, but I hope you are not one. Wish you could find your freedom which is as brilliant as fire. 

 

 

          Reading is A Status       

  

Yao said, "Reading is a status."

 

He once thought that reading is just about words. He now finds that reading goes far beyond it. Watching movies is reading; talking with people we don’t know is reading; going for an exhibition is also reading. Reading, is to see the changes of the world by heart.

 

 

          A Contrast with Art          

 

Yao said, "It’s not about owning anything, but feeling something."

 

The meaning of art contrast is to understand the view of others. What makes reading fantastic is that by defining art, we can capture a specific idea at the specific place of the specific person - like a piece of cell section - going beyond the boundaries of age, race, time and space. “History is written by the winners, while the history of art can be set as the contrast.” They are not what we thought, like ZENG Fanzhi drawing watermelon every summer; and like Picasso who lived in times of the world wars, loved to express by simple shapes with less complicated meanings. It’s all because “when the world is at chaos, one should paint something simple”. 

 

              Try to Accept         

   

Yao said, "We cannot avoid comparing. Try to accept."

 

There were times when he could not accept to be compared. As days go by, he can gradually accept the identity as ‘lyricist’ with a faithful and sincere mind. It’s because he knows, his past accomplishes his present. 

 

 

              To face Yourself             

 

Yao said, "I’m already in my fifties. I don’t want to pretend to be a heartbroken 25-year-old writing love songs anymore."

 

Men have their peaks in life, and are remembered by these periods of time. However, life is changing constantly with infinite extensibility. As you cannot act out your past, why not live your today? This is what you have to think over.  

 

 

          By the time of a song          

It seems that we have seen a very different YAO Qian within the time of a song – interesting, humorous, humble, generous and lovely. It’s our honor to have the chance to meet such a YAO Qian, with such life attitude.

 

"Chun Shan Ya Ju"  or "Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills", is one of the University's lecture series where the University will invite social elites to share with our students in form of salon or lecture to promote a discussion of thought-provoking issues or soul-touching experiences. During these events, everyone will have a chance to listen and respond on their world views, their aspirations, and intellectual taste in life.

春山雅聚 回顾丨姚谦:用一首歌的时间感受

嘉宾简介

姚谦丨音乐人·文字者·收藏家

 

他是词人与音乐产业管理者,历任台湾EMIVirginSony唱片公司总经理,三十年来于创作与管理两面行者,也热爱电影艺术、文学、旅行。他的歌词脍炙人口,获奖无数,代表作有《我愿意》、《如果爱》等。

 

最熟悉的陌生人

 

站在红绿相衬、对比强烈的预告海报前,觉得画中头发很卷戴着墨镜的大叔的人生一定充满着许多不可思议的邂逅与冒险。 走进《最熟悉的陌生人》里,以为会听到很多缠绵悱恻、穿山跨海的情歌故事。然而,只是我们习惯用标签去臆想人,接近之后的事实也许大相径庭。

所以这次,这位谦虚可爱又儒雅的姚老师往讲台上一站,我们大多数人就知道自己的臆想又错了。

png

丰盛如歌的世界

 

我们听到许多的不可思议,七天登上非洲之巅,还有感人至深的爱情故事,和一时意气错嫁终身的侗族姑娘。但这些不可思议不是完美到不真实的,而是掺杂着眼泪、坚持和心酸的;这样的爱情故事也不是戛然而止、再无结局的,而是作为灵感融入了侗族大歌之中。

 

很多观众说,听了姚老师的话,很多没想通的事,就这样在一场像谈心一样的讲座中,不经意地想通了。我们真的很愿意和你分享姚老师在春山雅聚第五期中描绘的那丰盛如歌的世界。

png

 

时间主权

 

姚谦说:在唱片业做了近二十年,但是后来我觉得我该把时间主权拿回来了。

 

 生命是由时间组成的,而我们每个人都应该有掌握自己时间的权利。但生活总多羁绊,常有杂事缠身,我们一再割地退让,赔上自己的时间、精力,却难求一个开心。人活一世,渺如大梦,最真实的不过开心二字。不妨开始为自己最真切的感受去据理力争自己的时间主权。

 

 

心灵自由

 

姚谦说:选择做在意的、喜欢的事。

 

时间主权是为心灵自由。心灵在何时获得自由了呢?在做那些你最在意、最喜欢的事的时候,那些你做起来最能感受到自己的价值、存在感和满足感的事。有趣地说,大概就是那些你做起来觉得时间过得飞快的事。这种感觉大概就像和自己喜欢的人在一起,明明已经过去了几个钟,却浑然不觉。多少人穷其一生也是随波逐流,愿你能够找到属于你自己的火花般绚烂的自由。

 

 

阅读是一种常态

 

姚谦说:阅读是一种常态。

 

曾经以为阅读只是字里行间,但事实上远不止于此。电影是阅读,和与自己毫不相似的人交流是阅读,看展亦是阅读。用心观察这世界的变化,就是一种阅读。

 

 

艺术的对照

 

姚谦说:不是占有什么,而是感知什么。

 

艺术对照的意义在于看别人的想法。阅读的奇妙之处就在于通过艺术的定格,我们可以跨越时空、年龄、种族的藩篱和界限,看到如细胞切片般的那个人在那个地方那一刻的想法。历史是赢家写的,美术史是可以参照的。他们不是我们想的那样,像曾凡志每年夏天都会画西瓜,毕加索横亘在一战二战的缝隙之间,他喜欢用简单的几何图形去表达,没有那么多复杂的象征意义,原因只是世界太混乱的时候,应该画一些简单的事物

 

 

人终究会接受

 

姚谦说:人难免会比较,人终究会接受。

 

曾经也会难以接受一些比较,但当年纪渐长,渐渐能以诚实坦然的心态去面对自己写词人的这个身份。因为有以前的自己,才会有现在的自己。

 

 

面对自己

 

姚谦说:我都50多岁的人啦,不想再装成25岁失恋的样子写情歌。

 

人总有光辉岁月,并总以这些时间段的事为人所铭记。但人生是无限延伸、不断变化的,过去的你再也乔装不回去,大胆地去活现在的自己,才是应该仔细考虑的事情。

 

 

用一首歌的时间

仿佛用了一首歌的时间,让我们感受到了一个不一样的姚谦,风趣、幽默、谦虚、儒雅可爱至极,我们有幸听到这样的姚谦,这样的人生态度。

 

 

 

春山雅聚

是校级系列讲座活动之一,大学将邀请文体艺术等领域有影响力的文人雅士,通过沙龙、讲座等多元化形式,在校园里与学生们进行思想交流,从而产生心灵碰撞。在这里,每个人都可以自由地倾听和表达对世界的看法、对生活的追求,感受到不同个体之间各具特色的人生品味。