[Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills] Review|Ms. WANG Xiangqian:Musical, How to be More Popular?

pic

 

For the 3rd lecture of the "Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills" series, we invited Ms. WANG Xiangqian, the representative of Japan’s Shiki Theatre in China and also the producer of the Chinese version of the musical "The Cat Who Wished to Be a Man". In the lecture, she shared how Shiki Theatre Company developed from a group of university students to the most popular and prestigious musical theatre company in Asia. To let musical infuse into more young people’s life, Shiki Theatre provides the lowest ticket price in the industry, which is no higher than 1/20 of young graduates’ monthly salary. 

And then, Ms. WANG Xiangqian as the producer, shared with the students several interesting stories during the rehearsal. For example, although the Japanese choreographer had already designed actions for the Chinese actors, they rearranged dance actions as they were amazed to see that many Chinese actors can do somersault and handstand.

A variety of gifts were given to the audience. There were also ten lucky students who received free tickets to the musical "The Cat Who Wished to Be a Man", which was indeed a pretty welfare allowing them to get together and enjoy the musical on weekends!

 

pic

pic

 

Q&A in the lecture:

pic

Audience's question:

"Musicals which are shown in domestic China are of three kinds: original foreign musical, original musical and the ‘Chinesization’ musical. Which one do you think is more suitable for the Chinese current aesthetic level?"

Ms. WANG Xiangqian:

"All these three kinds have their significance to exist. Thanks to all the musical peers for their efforts of promoting excellent musicals. I am personally inclined to the ‘Chinesization’ musical, in which the two most important factors 'screenplay' and 'music' are mature enough. Both are the guarantee of the quality of musical productions."

 

Audience's question:

"A few days ago, I watched 'Carmen' and thought its opera scenery is very colorful and bright. I wonder if you can talk about the differences between musical and opera."

Ms. WANG Xiangqian:

"The first thing to distinguish between musical and opera is to see how the composer places his work; second is to listen to the singing techniques. Although the musical 'The Phantom Of The Opera' feels like an opera, it is still a musical as it uses popular singing techniques; third, musical is more 'down to earth',which means the only thing you need to do is to bring yourself to the musical and enjoy."

 

About Guest:

pic

Ms. WANG Xiangqian, producer and general planner of the Chinese version of the musical "The Cat Who Wished to Be a Man". She is the representative of Japan’s Shiki Theatre in China and the author of the book "The Miracle of Art and Business: Asari Keita and his Shiki Theatre".

 

“Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills”, is one of the University's lecture series where the University will invite social elites to share with our students in form of salon or lecture to promote a discussion of thought-provoking issues or soul-touching experiences. During these events, everyone will have a chance to listen and respond on their world views, their aspirations, and intellectual taste in life.

春山雅聚回顾 | 王翔浅女士:音乐剧如何成为大众喜闻乐见的艺术?

pic

 

第三期春山雅聚系列讲座,我们邀请到了日本四季剧团驻中国区代表王翔浅女士,她同时也是《想变成人的猫》这部音乐剧的制作人。王翔浅女士先分享了四季剧团如何从一个由十几位大学生创办的演出团体成长为今天在亚洲最知名的音乐剧演出团体。比如它为了让音乐剧融入更多年轻人的生活,票价定价的宗旨是最高票价不高过应届生月工资的1/20,属日本同行业最低。

然后王翔浅女士作为制作人,和同学们分享了《想变成人的猫》制作排练过程中的趣事,比如日本的编舞人员已经设计好了动作,到中国让演员们现场展示技巧的时候,很多演员会空翻、倒立,日本编舞人员惊呆了,重新编排了音乐剧的舞蹈。

现场观众获得了一大波小礼品,还有十位同学幸运地获得了《想变成人的猫》音乐剧门票,周末可以相约看剧,这波福利很贴心!

 

pic

pic

 

现场问答集锦:

pic

观众提问:

“现在国内上演的音乐剧主要有三种,国外原版音乐剧、原创音乐剧、还有汉化音乐剧。您觉得哪个类型的音乐剧更适合国人目前的审美水平呢?”

王翔浅女士:

“三种类型的音乐剧都有存在的必要性,感谢所有同行为了推广优秀音乐剧所做的努力。我个人而言更倾向于做汉化演出,因为音乐剧中最重要的两大元素‘剧本’和‘音乐’都很成熟,保证了音乐剧出品的质量。”

 

观众提问:

“前几天去看了歌剧《卡门》,觉得布景也很鲜艳,想让王老师更详细地解答一下音乐剧和歌剧的区别。”

王翔浅女士:

“区别音乐剧和歌剧的第一点,看创作人对自己作品的定位;第二点,听唱法,就算是最偏歌剧的音乐剧《歌剧魅影》,推动剧情发展的也是流行唱法;第三点,音乐剧‘更接地气’,看音乐剧的时候,带着愉悦的心情去享受就行了。”

 

嘉宾简介:

pic

王翔浅,《想变成人的猫》音乐剧总策划及制作人,日本四季剧团驻中国代表,著有《艺术与经营的奇迹——浅利庆太和他的四季剧团》一书。

 

春山雅聚是校级系列讲座活动之一,大学将邀请文体艺术等领域有影响力的文人雅士,通过沙龙、讲座等多元化形式,在校园里与学生们进行思想交流,从而产生心灵碰撞。在这里,每个人都可以自由地倾听和表达对世界的看法、对生活的追求,感受到不同个体之间各具特色的人生品味。