[Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills] Review丨 Liaozhai and Chat—Why We Chat?

Chatting can let us experience more than we expected. It opens a window which leads to the mutual understanding of others and the diverse world.

At the 11th lecture of the Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills Lecture Series, Director Lam started a chat which not only relaxed and amused the audience, but also stimulated some deep and easy thoughts.

 

[Meeting the Intellectuals in the Spring Hills] Review丨 Liaozhai and Chat—Why We Chat?

As WeChat dominates most of our daily communication, in this face-to-face chat with Director Lam, he revealed that the reason modern people are scared to chat, is actually due to the fear of being found. It seems to be a paradox that we hope to be understood, but at the same time, we are afraid of it.

 

It has already been a phenomenon of “together alone”. Taking his works such as “Why We Chat” as an example, Director Lam shared with us about his interpretation of the modern “loneliness” and “solitude”.

 

For this time, at the 11th lecture of the Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills Lecture Series, we learnt from Director Lam and his works that the world does not follow the rule of binary opposition. We should not see things in black and white. Instead, chatting can let us experience more than we expected. It opens a window which leads to the mutual understanding of others and the diverse world.

 

About the Lecturer

 

Edward Lam

Famous Artistic Director and Screenwriter

 

[Meeting the Intellectuals in the Spring Hills] Review丨 Liaozhai and Chat—Why We Chat?

Born in Hong Kong, Edward Lam has been working as screenwriter since middle school. After graduation, he founded their own theatre troupe—Zuni Icosahedron with friends.

 

During Lam’s residence in London from 1989 to 1995, he established the "Edward Lam Dance Theater" and released several stage shows in London, Brussel, Paris and Hong Kong. In 1994, he won the Best Adapted Screenplay Award for “Red Rose White Rose”, directed by Stanley Kwan. Since returning to Hong Kong in 1995, he has devoted himself to theatre and directed 58 original works. He has worked with Sylvia Chang, Angelica Lee, David Wang, Rene Liu, Daniel Wu, Ariel Lin, Joseph Chang, Tony Yang, Valen Hsu, Gigi Leung, Cheer Chen and Joe Cheng, etc.

 

 

 

[Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills]

 

“Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills” is one of the University's lecture series where the University will invite social elites in such fields as culture and arts to share with our students in form of salon or lecture to promote a discussion of thought-provoking issues or soul-searching experiences. During the lectures, everyone will have a chance to listen and respond on their world views, their aspirations, and intellectual taste in life.

[Meeting the Intellectuals in the Spring Hills] Review丨 Liaozhai and Chat—Why We Chat?

Scan the QR code to follow us for more information on campus series events

“Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills” is one of the University's lecture series where outstanding personnel in such fields as culture and arts are invited to share with our students in form of salon or lecture to promote a discussion of thought-provoking issues or soul-searching experiences. During the lectures, everyone will have a chance to listen and respond on their world views, their aspirations, and intellectual taste in life. Since April 2017, 13 guests were invited here to share their views on culture, art and life with students.

春山雅聚回顾丨林奕华:聊斋与斋聊—鬼才和你聊天

春山雅聚第十一期,林奕华导演主导了一次轻松、幽默而又引发众人各种或深度或浅度思考的“聊天”。

 

春山雅聚第十一期,林奕华导演主导了一次轻松、幽默而又引发众人各种或深度或浅度思考的“聊天”。

在这个微信横行的时代,这场面对面的有效沟通,用“聊天”本身告诉我们,现代人害怕聊天,其实是害怕自己被发现;我们渴望被“懂得”,却害怕被“懂得”。

 

当“together alone”俨然已成为了一种现象,林奕华导演以自己的《斋聊》等作品为例,阐述对于现代“寂寞”和“孤独”的理解。

 

春山雅聚第十一期,感谢林奕华导演用自己的作品引导大家,凡事并不止于黑或白,而“聊天”会激发不同人的人生体会,会成为我们认知他人和世界的窗口。

春山雅聚回顾丨林奕华:聊斋与斋聊—鬼才和你聊天

【嘉宾简介】

林奕华

著名舞台剧导演及编剧

春山雅聚回顾丨林奕华:聊斋与斋聊—鬼才和你聊天

香港出生,中学毕业前曾在前丽的电视及电视广播有限公司担任编剧。毕业后与友人组成前卫剧团进念·二十面体。

 

1989年至1995年在伦敦居住,期间组成「非常林奕华舞蹈剧场」,先后在伦敦、布鲁塞尔、巴黎与香港发表舞台创作。1994年凭电影《红玫瑰白玫瑰》(关锦鹏导演) 获台湾金马奖最佳改编剧本奖。1995年回港后致力推动舞台创作,至今已编导了五十八部原创剧场作品。合作过的艺术家包括张艾嘉、李心洁、王耀庆、刘若英、吴彦祖、林依晨、张孝全、杨佑宁、许茹芸、梁咏琪、陈绮贞、郑元畅等。

 

【春山雅聚】

春山雅聚是校级系列讲座活动之一,大学将邀请文化艺术等领域有影响力的文人雅士,通过沙龙、讲座等多元化形式,在校园里与学生们进行思想交流,从而产生心灵碰撞。在这里,每个人都可以自由地倾听和表达对世界的看法、对生活的追求,感受到不同个体之间各具特色的人生品味。

春山雅聚回顾丨林奕华:聊斋与斋聊—鬼才和你聊天

扫码关注我们获取更多校园品牌活动资讯

春山雅聚是校级系列讲座活动之一,邀请文化艺术等领域有影响力的文人雅士,通过沙龙、讲座等多元化形式,在校园里与学生们进行思想交流,从而产生心灵碰撞。在这里,每个人都可以自由地倾听和表达对世界的看法、对生活的追求,感受到不同个体之间各具特色的人生品味。自2017年4月至今,共有13位嘉宾来到校园与学生们分享文化艺术与生活。