[Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills]Review | Lucas Wang:Just Do Whatever Makes You Happy

The first lecture of "Meeting Intellectual in the Spring Hills" lecture series in 2020 was held "in the cloud" to greet everyone. Mr. Lucas Wang, the Artistic Director of the Inside-Out Theatre, shared with us the operation of theatres and production of dramas.

 

Review of Lecture

 

Lucas explained the different concepts of "theatre" and "playhouse", the modes and risks of theatre operation and the difficulties theatres are faced with during this epidemic period . He also shared the industry knowledge with us. After listening to the lecture, we are more looking forward to the works of theatres.

 

Lucas said, "The live ambience plays a key role in watching dramas in playhouses, which is difficult to be created through live streaming."

图

Lucas shared successful cases --En attendant Godot and Frankenstein

 

Choosing "Just Do Whatever Makes You Happy" as the theme, Mr. Lucas Wang frankly said that his background was in business rather than drama or other related professions. What made him determined to enter the industry of drama was interest and opportunity, and from his perspective, to enjoy your work is the simplist value in life.

 

Selection of Questions and Answers

Q:I'm curious about the skills of constructing a sense of space in the playhouse. For instance, we need to depict a comparatively large scene but we are restricted to the limited space of the stage.

 

A:We need to rely on perspective or choreography to express in an abstract way, for example, we can merely present one corner. The scene on the stage gives the audience a large space of imagination, which is also the charm of the playhouse.

 

Q:If I want to enter the industry, could you please recommend some internships?

 

A:Nowadays, there are many domestic and foreign theatres recruiting interns and volunteers, and many overseas playhouses even have long-term recruitment. There are also some emerging theatres in Shenzhen, and you can pay more attention to them.

 

Feedbacks from Students

 

@龚勋

I have always treasured the opportunity to communicate with professional troupes. Lucas introduced some knowledge about theatre operation to us and shared the experience of their team when they were creating plays, which made me feel the uniqueness of this industry once again. My experience of producing plays in the drama club enabled me to strongly resonate with the lecturer's sharing. Behind the beautiful stories is the real exhaustion.

 

@奥菲利亚

Due to the epidemic, I haven't walked into the playhouse to be immersed in a play for a long time. Lucas shared with us the difficulties theatres are faced with in this epidemic situation. I really felt sorry for that and it’s a heartbreak. Theatres have always been places full of love and affection. I hope it will recover soon.

 

@李安

Lucas shared many internal situations of the industry, which gave me a deeper understanding of the Chinese drama industry, especially private playhouses. After learning about the advantages of foreign language majors in the workplace like playhouses, I became more confident in my profession. However, Chinese drama still has a long way to go in terms of originality.

 

@郭旭康

This time, Lucas has shared a lot about drama and theatre operation, which has triggered me a lot. As a student of SME, I have a certain understanding of how non-art major students enter the field of drama and form a clearer conception of the theatre industry. I also hope there will be more similar sharing in the future.

 

 About the Guest

图

 Lucas Wang is an experienced theatre manager and a drama producer, who has been the director of Inside-Out Theatre since 2016 and is responsible for the programme planning of theater performances, the curation of artistic films and the operation of venues.

 

    In 2016, in collaboration with the Belgian director Jeroen Versteele, he produced the Chinese version of the contemporary Dutch drama “Poison”, which premiered in Inside-Out Theatre on December 29, 2016. In 2017, he cooperated with Swiss director Elias Perrig to produce the Chinese version of the contemporary British drama “Breathing”, which won the 2017 Shanghai drama award for the “Best Small Theatre Drama of the Year”. In the same year, he introduced “White Rabbit and Red Rabbit” into China. This special “drama game” created under specific rules gave audience unique enjoyment and interactivity, delivering them special artistic experience, and stood out from the ordinary drama markets. People from all walks of life, such as actors, hosts, and artists from other fields, were invited to take part in the “drama game” and now it has carried out 7 rounds of performances. He planned and held the first Inside-Out Theatre Technology and Art Festival. Under the structure of “Technology x Art”, through 3 foreign dramas and 3 locally produced dramas, he initiated the discussion about how to express science ethic in drama and how to apply new technology into performance. The second festival was held from 15 to 20 September, 2019. This festival focused on how technologies, such as social media and monitoring, get involved in our life. Also, the festival put forward new thinking and questions about the relationship between individuals and the relationship in between people and society.

 

The Inside-Out Theatre 

 

The Inside-Out Theatre is located in the Middle Art Park of Xingshikou Road, Haidian District. It is the first private theatre in the western part of Beijing. With an area of 2,724 square meters, it was reconstructed based on the original structure of an old factory building. The interior of the theatre was designed with professional acoustics and lighting. It has a 442-seat medium-sized theatre, a 105-seat projection space, a rehearsal hall, and an open multi-functional hall which can be used for performances of various art categories such as small theatre plays, mini operas, concerts and so on.

 

    The Inside-Out Theatre is committed to providing a comfortable, open, and diversified artistic communication space with an international perspective for audiences and artists. Since the formal establishment of the Inside-Out Theater in 2013, it has gradually become one of the most influential theatres in the western part of Beijing, and has received more and more attention and recognition from various media. In 2015, it was nominated by the Beijing News and was awarded “The Second Most Popular Theater in Beijing” in the annual drama category election; in 2016 it was nominated by “Life Week” as “Best Theater of the Year in Beijing”.

 

 

Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills

 

 

“Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills” is one of the University's lecture series where the University will invite social elites in such fields as culture and arts to share with our students in form of salon or lecture to promote a discussion of thought-provoking issues or soul-searching experiences. During the lectures, everyone will have a chance to listen and respond on their world views, their aspirations, and intellectual taste in life.

春山雅聚回顾 | 满顶:哪个开心做哪个

2020年的第一场春山雅聚系列讲座,迎来了和大家云见面的特别方式。中间剧场艺术总监满顶老师与我们分享了剧院经营与戏剧制作。

 

 

讲座现场回顾 

满顶老师从“剧场”与“剧院”的不同概念,剧院经营模式和风险以及当前时期剧院的困境等多方面一一解读,精准透彻地将行业知识告诉大家,听完这次讲座大家也对剧场工作更加期待了。

 

满顶老师说:“戏剧的现场感很重要,这个是网络直播无法给予的。”

图

 

分享成功案例《等待戈多》、《弗兰肯斯坦》

 

选择“哪个开心做哪个”做主题,满顶老师坦言自己并不是戏剧相关专业背景,是商科出身,当时选择戏剧行业是出于兴趣和机缘,工作开心是最朴素的人生价值观!

 

精选互动问答Q&A 

Q:好奇剧场的空间感的构建技巧,比如说需要表达一个较大的场景,却受限于空间有限的舞台的时候。

A:需要依靠透视法的运用,或依靠舞美进行比较抽象性的表达,比如只表达一角。舞台上的场景是给观众想象空间很大的,这也是剧场的魅力所在。

 

Q:想进入行业,请问有什么实习推荐?

A:现在国内外其实有很多剧院有实习生和志愿者的招募,国外剧场很多都会长期招募志愿者和实习生。深圳本地也有一些新兴剧场正在建立,可以多留意。

 

同学反馈 

@龚勋

一直很珍惜和专业剧团交流的机会。满顶老师为我们介绍了剧场运作的一些知识,分享了他们团队在做剧时的经历,让我再次感觉到这个行业的与众不同与独特的魅力。在戏剧社的做剧经历让我对老师的分享有强烈的共鸣,美丽的故事背后真的是一次又一次的筋疲力尽。

 

@奥菲利亚

由于疫情的原因,已经好久没有走进剧场静心欣赏一部作品了。满顶老师为我们分享了剧院在这次疫情中面对的困境,真的感觉心疼又惋惜。剧场对我们来说一直是一个充满爱和感动的地方,希望她能早日恢复。

 

@李安

满顶老师分享许多行业内部的情况,让我对中国戏剧行业特别是民营剧场有了更深刻的认识,并且在了解外语专业在剧场工作的优势性后对自己的专业更有信心了。不过中国戏剧在原创这方面还有很长一段路需要走啊。

 

@郭旭康

这次满顶老师做了许多有关戏剧引入、剧场运营相关的分享,受益匪浅。作为经管学院的同学,对于非艺术专业学生如何进入戏剧领域有了一定了解。对戏剧行业有了更明确的概念。也希望以后能有越来越多类似的分享。

 

 嘉宾简介 

图

 满顶,自2010年以来,出任中间剧场艺术总监,负责剧场演出节目规划,影院艺术影片放映策展以及场馆运营,拥有丰富的戏剧节目制作管理经验。

 

    2016年与比利时导演Jeroen Versteele 合作,制作了荷兰当代话剧《毒》中文版,于2016年12月29日在中间剧场首演;2017年与瑞士导演Elias Perrig合作,制作了英国当代话剧《呼吸》中文版,获得2017上海壹戏剧大赏 “年度最佳小剧场剧目奖”;同年以总策划身份将伊朗剧作家特殊的“戏剧游戏”《白兔子,红兔子》带入中国,这部作品特殊规则性使它具备了独特的趣味性、互动性与艺术体验,在当下戏剧市场主流的呈现中脱颖而出,邀请到演员、主持人、跨界表演的艺术家等各界人士参与,目前已进行了七轮演出;2018年策划并举办了首届中间剧场科技艺术节,在“科技 X 艺术”的框架下,发起了对戏剧作品表现科学伦理以及科技手段在舞台上应用的讨论,通过3部国外邀约剧目,3部本土制作剧目完成了呈现;第二届中间剧场科技艺术节已于 2019年9月5日至15日举办,这一次,艺术节主题聚焦社交媒体、监控等科技媒介如何介入人们生活,并对人与人的关系、人与社会的关系提出新的思考和质问。

 

 

关于中间剧场

 

中间剧场位于海淀区杏石口路中间艺术园区,是北京西边第一家民营剧场。面积2724平米,在保留老厂房的结构基础上进行了改造,剧场内部进行了专业的声学和灯光设计,拥有一个442个座位的中型剧场,一个105个座位的放映空间,一个排练厅,以及一个开放式的多功能厅,可以用于小剧场话剧、小型歌剧、音乐会等多种艺术门类的演出。

 

    中间剧场致力于为观众及艺术家提供一个舒适、开放、多元化、具有国际视野的艺术交流空间。自2013年中间剧 场正式成立以来,逐渐成为北京西边最具影响力的剧场之一,获得越来越多的各类媒体关注和认可,2015 年被《新京报》提名,获得“年度戏剧类票选北京地区最受欢迎剧场第二名”;2016 年被《三联生活周刊》提名为“北京地区年度最佳小剧场”。

 

 

春山雅聚 

 

 

春山雅聚是校级系列讲座活动之一,大学将邀请文化艺术等领域有影响力的文人雅士,通过沙龙、讲座等多元化形式,在校园里与学生们进行思想交流,从而产生心灵碰撞。在这里,每个人都可以自由地倾听和表达对世界的看法、对生活的追求,感受到不同个体之间各具特色的人生品味。