[Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills] Review丨Tim Yip:Inspiration for the New-Orientalism Aesthetics

The 13th Lecture of the Meeting the Intellectuals in the Spring Hills Lecture Series

Inspiration for the New-Orientalism Aesthetics

 ‘’

 

 

‘’

On November 10, world renowned visual artist, film and stage art director and costume designer, Mr. Tim Yip, gave us 2018's last but one of the best lectures at the "Meeting the Intellectuals in the Spring Hills" Lecture Series, revealing the modern spirit of the "New-Orientalism Aesthetics".

 

Rowing a boat of stories gently down the river of his life journey, we were exposed to what he explored and how he grew up in the pursuit of art.

‘’

Ms. Dorothy Wong, Director of University Planning and Coordination Office and Administrative Services Office presented a custom made souvenir to Mr. Tim Yip

 

Those stories which were interesting but true acquainted us with the concept of New-Orientalism Aesthetics. It is a common understanding that oriental beauty equals to tradition, which has tight bonds with the past and a long impact on the present. In his words, New-Orientalism evidently confirms the notion of embracing both tradition and modernity, and makes an effort to find the true meaning and the value of existence to bring together eastern classics and western culture.

‘’

After his talk, many members of the audience bought autographed copies of Tim Yip's book: The Creative Aesthetics of Tim Yip: Manifold

 

Remarkably, he shared about his perception and understanding on "New-Orientalism Aesthetics": "Leave the heavy burden, set the aesthetics free, let it be in no control nor disturbed; we just settle down and see, to feel all the goodness inside." It is indeed the "probing mode" which has combined modernity and the oriental aesthetics.

 

At the 13th lecture of the Meeting the Intellectuals in the Spring Hills Lecture Series, amazed by the ingenious idea of "New-Orientalism Aesthetics", we are now looking out through a unique window to a new world, opened by Mr. Tim Yip.

 

 

Guest profile

‘’

Since working on his first film A Better Tomorrow directed by John Woo in 1986, Tim Yip has accomplished costume designs and art direction for many film and theatrical performances over the past two decades. In addition to Woo, Tim has collaborated with other film directors of international acclaim such as Ang Lee, Tsai Ming Liang, Tian Zhuangzhuang, Li Shaohong, Stanley Kwan, Chen Kuo-fu, Chen Kaige, and Feng Xiaogang. His striking costume design and art direction for feature films Red Cliff, The Banquet, 1942, The Message, The Promise, Spring in a Small Town, Temptation of a Monk and Double Vision and television drama Palace of Desires, Dreams of the Red Chamber, Oranges Turn Ripe and Marco Polo produced by NETFLIX have further attracted worldwide attention to his work. From 2017, Tim Yip has been serving as the art director and costume designer of the film Fengshen Trilogy. Its first episode is expected to be released in 2020.

 

In the field of stage art, Tim Yip has cooperated with many renowned artists and theatrical groups such as Robert Wilson, Franco Dragone, Zhang Yimou, Lai Shengchuan, Yang Liping, Cloud Gate Dance Theatre, Contemporary Legend Theatre, Han Tang Yue-fu Dance Ensemble, Tai-Gu Tales Dance Theatre, and U Theatre. His stage productions included Loulan Girl, The Night Revels of Han Xizai, the Palace of Eternal Life, A Dream Like A Dream, Peacock, House of Flying Daggers played in San Fransisco Opera House, Sadler’s Wells Theatre, Joyce Theatre, Palais de Chaillot, Opera-Comique, Paris, Opernhaus Graz, Beijing National Theatre, Taipei Palace Museum and other theatres. He took part in many international art festivals like Edinburgh Fringe Festival, Avignon Dramatic Art Festiva, Biennale de la danse Lyon and so on. In 2004, Tim Yip designed the overall visual including costume and choreography for the ‘8 Minutes of China’ in the closing ceremony of the Athene Olympics. In 2010, Tim Yip worked with the famous choreographer and dancer, Akram Khan and served as visual designer for  the opera DESH, which won the Beth Award and the British Lawrence Oliver Award. Later, they cooperated again in the opera Until the Lions. In 2016, in cooperation with the British National Ballet, a new ballet "Giselle" was launched. In September 2016, the English opera "Dreams of the Red Chamber ", composed by Sheng Zongliang, directed performed by Lai Shengchuan and art directed by Tim Yip, had its worldwide premier at the San Francisco Opera House and had its Asian premier at the "Hong Kong Arts Festival" in March 2017. His creative footprints include China, Austria, France, the United States, the United Kingdom, Spain, Japan and Israel. In 2018, following the "Peacock" and " House of Flying Daggers ", Tim Yip worked with Yang Liping for three times as the artistic director of the "Spring Festival" by the Shadley Wells Theatre in London, England and the Shanghai Art Festival.

 

Since 2002, Tim Yip has held exhibitions at the National Palace Museum in Taipei, the Bourges Cultural House in France, the Royal Dutch Theatre, the Madrid Cultural Center in Spain, and the Kennedy Art Center in the United States. His works featured the New York International Asian Art Fair. He has held solo exhibitions at the Today Art Museum in Beijing, the Taipei Contemporary Art Center, the Beijing Three Shadows Art Center, and the Singapore Esplanade. In 2015, the art short film "Kitchen" directed by Tim Yip won the "Best Art Direction Award" at the 8th ASVOFF International Fashion Video Art Film Festival held at the Centre Pompidou, Paris, France. In March 2016, the “PARALLEL” Tim Yip personal art exhibition was held at the Amiens Cultural Center in France. In September 2016, the “Tim Yip: Manifold” art exhibition was held at the Shanghai Museum of Contemporary Art (PSA).

 

Tim Yip has successively cooperated with world leading commercial brands such as M.A.C and Chow Tai Fook. In 2010, Tim Yip and the clothing installation he created participated in Dior's 60th Anniversary Exhibition Dior and Chinese Artists, which was exhibited at the Ullens Center for Contemporary Art (UCCA) in Beijing. In the same year, Tim Yip was also the artistic director of the Italian furniture design exhibition “Timeless Time”, which was an important artistic installation event of Italy at the Shanghai World Expo. In 2016, commissioned by the Taiwan VOUGE magazine and CHANEL, Tim Yip made a short film "Looking for Chanel" featuring Kwai Lun-Mei. In September of the same year, he was invited by SWAROVSKI to create a “Golden” gothic dress with 100,000 Swarovski crystals, which was exhibited at the “Tim Yip: Manifold” art exhibition. In June 2017, Tim Yip specially designed a medium-sized PEEKABOO handbag “Spring Blossom Winter Snow” for the FENDI CHINA PEEKABOO PROJECT, a charity project initiated by the famous Italian fashion brand FENDI. In July 2017, Tim Yip once again joined hands with CHANEL to direct the art short film "A Record of Love" starring Zhou Xun and Hu Ge for the newly-launched VOGUE Film magazine. In December of the same year, invited by the Modern Communication Group, Tim Yip served as a creative, screenwriter and director, and together with artists such as U Drum, Zhu Zheqin, Qi Jizhen and Wu Man, staged a multimedia stage play.

 

In addition to art creation, Tim Yip has also been committed to the literary creations for years with collections that are published around the world in Chinese, English and French etc. Publications include the "Uncertain Time", "Big Fire", "Flowers", "Flower White", "Meral", "ROUGE-L'ART DE TIM YIP, "GIJÓN", "Silence • Illusion", "Red Cliff: Tim Yip's Art Notes" and "Spiritual Thoughts and Strange Paths" and "Spiritual Actions and Strange Paths", etc. His latest book is "Manifold: Tim Yip's Creative Aesthetics".

 

 

Meeting the Intellectuals in the Spring Hills” is one of the University's lecture series where the University will invite social elites in such fields as culture and arts to share with our students in form of salon or lecture to promote a discussion of thought-provoking issues or soul-searching experiences. During the lectures, everyone will have a chance to listen and respond on their world views, their aspirations, and intellectual taste in life.

 

‘’

Scan the QR code to follow us for more information on campus series events

春山雅聚回顾丨叶锦添:“新东方主义”美学现代启示录

春山雅聚第十三期

“新东方主义”美学现代启示录

 ‘’

 

‘’

1110日,世界知名的视觉艺术家、电影与舞台美术指导、服装设计师的叶锦添老师,做客春山雅聚第十三期,作为春山雅聚系列讲座2018的压轴嘉宾,他带我们领略了“新东方主义”美学的现代灵魂。

 

 

似近犹远

叶锦添老师从自己的故事缓缓道来,告诉我们他在艺术道路上的发现与成长。从最初的小小画家,到“新东方主义”美学大师,他在美学探索的途中一路真心。

‘’

大学规划与协调处兼行政事务处处长黄顺真女士

向叶锦添老师赠送定制的春山雅聚纪念品

 

我们从叶锦添老师有趣而真实的故事中,似乎开始渐渐知晓了“新东方主义”美学这个似近犹远的概念。

 

或许在通常的理解中,东方的美就是传统而悠久的美,与古相接,古色古香。在叶锦添老师的言辞之中,“新东方主义”美学顾名思义是融合现代元素,融汇古今东西,在西洋文化与东方古典之间找寻其真实之意义与落脚点。

 

‘’

 

叶锦添老师在讲座后签售个人著作《叶锦添的创意美学:流形》

 

更特别的,是他对于“新东方主义”美学的认知与领悟:“抛下沉重的躯壳,让美学在无人为臆想干预的环境下发展,我们只需要静静观察,方可体会到其中的美好。”这已然结合了现代元素与东方美学形式的探索模式了。

 

春山雅聚第十三期,我们领略了“新东方主义”美学之精彩,感谢叶锦添老师为我们打开了一扇不一样的视觉之窗。

 

 

嘉宾简介

‘’

 

1986年参与了第一部电影《英雄本色》,二十多年以来,叶锦添担纲多部电影的美术与服装创作。合作对象包括众多世界知名导演,如吴宇森、李安、 冯小刚、蔡明亮、陈国富、关锦鹏、陈凯歌、田壮壮、李少红等。他在《赤壁》、《夜宴》、《一九四二》、《风声》、《无极》、《小城之春》、《阿婴》、《胭脂扣》、《诱僧》等电影、电视剧《大明宫词》、《橘子红了》、《红楼梦》以及美国NETFLIX制作的电视剧《马可·波罗》等众多作品中体现的美术创意及充满文化气息与创新的服装造型,一直以来备受国际的瞩目与肯定。2017年起,叶锦添担任电影《封神三部曲》美术指导及服装造型设计,三部曲中的首部影片预计于2020年上映。

 

在舞台艺术领域,叶锦添与诸多世界知名艺术家及著名艺术团体合作,包括罗伯特·威尔逊(Robert Wilson)、弗兰克·德贡(Franco Dragone)、张艺谋、赖声川、杨丽萍,以及云门舞集、当代传奇剧场、汉唐乐府、太古踏舞团、优人神鼓等。舞台剧《楼兰女》、《韩熙载夜宴图》、《长生殿》、《如梦之梦》、《孔雀》、《十面埋伏》作品曾在旧金山歌剧院(San Fransisco Opera House)、伦敦沙德勒之井剧院(Sadlers Wells Theatre)、纽约乔伊斯剧院(Joyce Theatre)、巴黎夏佑剧院(Palais de Chaillot)、巴黎喜歌剧院(Opera-Comique, Paris)、奥地利格拉兹歌剧院(Opernhaus Graz)、北京国家大剧院、台北故宫博物院等地展演,并参与了包括英国爱丁堡艺术节(Edinburgh Fringe Festival)、法国亚维侬艺术节(Avignon Dramatic Art Festival)、里昂舞蹈双年展(Biennale de la danse Lyon)在内的多个国际艺术节。2004年,叶锦添为雅典奥运会闭幕式上“中国八分钟”交接仪式设计了包括服装和舞美的整体视觉。2010年,叶锦添与著名编舞家、舞蹈家阿库·汉姆(Akram Khan)合作。由叶锦添担任视觉艺术家(舞台与服装设计)的舞剧《源》(DESH)获得了美国贝丝奖及英国劳伦斯·奥利佛奖。之后两人于舞剧《环》(Until the Lions)中再度合作,并于2016年与英国国家芭蕾舞团合作推出了一版全新芭蕾舞剧《吉赛尔》。20169月,由盛宗亮作曲、赖声川执导、叶锦添担任艺术指导与舞台美术、服装设计的英语歌剧《红楼梦》在旧金山歌剧院进行世界首演,并与20173月在“香港艺术节”举行亚洲首演。其创作足迹遍及中国、奥地利、法国、美国、英国、西班牙、日本及以色列等地。2018年,继《孔雀》、《十面埋伏》之后,叶锦添三度与杨丽萍合作,担任由英国伦敦沙德勒之井剧院以及上海艺术节委约作品 《春之祭》艺术总监。

 

2002年开始,叶锦添先后在台北故宫博物院、法国布尔日文化之家、荷兰皇家剧院、西班牙马德里文化中心、美国肯尼迪艺术中心等地举办创作特展。其艺术创作作品亦参与纽约国际亚洲艺术博览会等重要艺术盛会。先后在北京今日美术馆、台北当代艺术中心、北京三影堂艺术中心、新加坡滨海艺术中心举办个展。2015年,由叶锦添执导的艺术短片《厨房》在法国巴黎蓬皮杜中心举行的第八届ASVOFF国际时尚影像艺术影展中摘得“最佳艺术指导奖”。20163月,在法国亚眠文化中心举办“平行 PARALLEL”叶锦添个人艺术展览。20169月,在上海当代艺术博物馆(PSA)举办 “叶锦添:流形”艺术大展。

 

叶锦添先后与M.A.C、周大福等知名商业品牌进行跨界艺术合作。2010年,由叶锦添创作的服装装置参与迪奥(Dior)六十周年展览《迪奥与中国艺术家》,在北京尤伦斯当代艺术中心(UCCA)展出。同年,叶锦添担任意大利家具设计展——“无时序列(Timeless  Time)”艺术总监,作为意大利在上海世博会期间的重要艺术装置活动展出。2016年,由台湾VOUGE杂志委约、携手香奈儿(CHANEL),叶锦添掌镜拍摄了以桂纶镁为主角的艺术短片《寻找香奈尔》。同年9月,作为“叶锦添:流形”艺术大展的一部分,叶锦添应邀为施华洛世奇(SWAROVSKI)特别创作了缀满十万颗施华洛世奇水晶的哥特礼服“凝态”。20176月,叶锦添为意大利著名时装品牌芬迪(FENDI)发起的FENDI CHINA PEEKABOO PROJECT 慈善项目特别设计了一款中号PEEKABOO手袋“春花冬雪”。20177月, 叶锦添再次携手香奈儿(CHANEL, 为新创刊的VOGUE Film杂志执导了由周迅、胡歌主演的艺术短片《某种爱的记录》。同年12月,受现代传播集团邀约,叶锦添担任创意、编剧以及导演,携手包括优人神鼓、朱哲琴、裘继戎、吴蛮等艺术家上演了《空穴来风》多媒体舞台剧。

 

在艺术创作之外,叶锦添多年以来一直致力于文字的创作,出版了《不确定时间》、《大火》、《繁花》、《流白》、《中容》、《ROUGE-L'ART DE TIM YIP》、《GIJÓN》、《寂静•幻象》、《赤壁:叶锦添的美术笔记》及《神思陌路》、《神行陌路》等十多部作品。作品集更以中、英、法等多国语言,出版发行于世界各地。最新出版作品为《流形:叶锦添的创意美学》。

 

春山雅聚

春山雅聚是校级系列讲座活动之一,大学将邀请文化艺术等领域有影响力的文人雅士,通过沙龙、讲座等多元化形式,在校园里与学生们进行思想交流,从而产生心灵碰撞。在这里,每个人都可以自由地倾听和表达对世界的看法、对生活的追求,感受到不同个体之间各具特色的人生品味。

 

‘’

扫码关注我们

获取更多校园品牌活动资讯