[Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills] Review | Li Xingyu: Share“The Farthest Place from the Sea."

 

The 27th Lecture of the Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills Lecture Series

。

On October 22, the 27th "Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills" lecture was held as scheduled. Following the steps of the musician Mr. Li Xingyu, let's explore sound and stories behind "The Farthest Place from the Sea."

 

 

 

Event Review】

 

PART-1  A Sound Experiment 

 

Mr. Li Xingyu played an audio clip of a humpback whale’s call he recorded while in Okinawa, Japan.

。

It was during one of their mating seasons when whales spent a few months swimming from the distant cold zone to Okinawa's warm waters to mate and then turned back. Whales' language has been a mystery so far, as they communicate with complex sounds similar to human songs.

 

。

The audience also listened to other recorded sounds and explored many newer places in the sound experiment.

 

 

PART-2   “In Search of Sound” Project

 

"The core of the project is recording of sound itself."

Mr. Li Xingyu told us about his story of sound recording in the Amazon rainforest.

。

Waving goodbye to cities and mobile phones, he led his team into the Amazon rainforest to gather more primitive sounds in nature. Every day there, he discovered the unknown, the fearful, the surprising, and the unprecedentedly profound.

In the depths of the primitive jungle, Li and his team collected myriad rich primitive sounds and brought them back for urban people to feel the beauty of nature beyond modern civilization.

 

 

PART-3   Sound Journey to the West

 

"In this part, we communicate as we listen, and we record memorable moments of the land with images and videos."

After traveling to South America, Mr. Li and his team went to Xinjiang, where Gobi deserts are dotted with poplars. 
 

。

In the region, he found and recorded Xinjiang traditional music, which inherits the bloodline of traditional Chinese music, and the unique sounds along the Salim Lake, Gobi deserts, and poplar forests. He named this journey "Sound Journey to the West".

 

。

Mr. Li mentioned that many magnificent pieces of Tang Dynasty's music, mainly originating in Xinjiang, are now facing the danger of being lost. They collected Xinjiang folk music so that its music culture could be preserved and perpetuated.

 

 

PART-4   Staying in "The Farthest Place from the Sea"

 

"I will not take anything away, instead, I would like to plant a seed and let it take root."

At the end of the "Sound Journey to the West", Li had a not-for-sale album and named it "The Farthest Place from the Sea".

。

Li Xingyu left the album in Xinjiang forever.


。

 

 

PART-5   Question and Answer Session

 

In the Q&A session, students expressed their admiration of Mr. Li's "legendary life" and asked him to share more about his experience.

。

。

。

Instead of telling the story of how he became an artist, he said to us that it is unrealistic for one to do only one thing during their lifetime and now we should keep thinking and constantly try new things to enrich our insights.

 

 

 

【Recommended Performance 】

。

One day by the Sea | Whale Circus 2021 National Tour - Shenzhen

Concert information:11.27 (Sat) 20:30 Shenzhen B10 Live

 

 

 

【Introduction of the Artist 】

。

Li Xingyu is an independent musician, sound producer and artist, sound designer, recording engineer, acoustic space designer and music teacher.

His album Whale Circus has been produced and released numerous times. He also launched the art project 52HZ Sound Cabinet in his own name, aiming to explore the auditory art space beyond "music". The first sub-project Amazon Voice Searching Project has received wide attention. In 2018, he initiated the Sound Journey To The West project, recording folk music in many places in Xinjiang and improvised music works with fusion styles that broke the traditional methods of composing music. Since 2007, as an acoustic space designer, he has participated in the design of more than 100 recording studios and all kinds of sound facilities and buildings throughout China.

 

 

 

【Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills】

"Meeting Intellectuals in the Spring Hills" is one of the University's lecture series where the University will invite social elites in such fields as culture and arts to share with our students in form of salon or lecture to promote a discussion of thought-provoking issues or soul-searching experiences. During the lectures, everyone will have a chance to listen and respond on their world views, their aspirations, and intellectual taste in life.

 

 

University Arts Centre

1

To bring students closer to culture and art

To make the "DREAM" come true

春山雅聚回顾|李星宇:分享“离海最远的地方”

 

春山雅聚第二十七期

。

10月22日,第二十七期“春山雅聚”如约与大家见面,让我们跟随着音乐人李星宇老师一同揭开声音的面纱,去探寻 “离海最远的地方”背后的故事。

 

 

【活动现场回顾】

 

1 - 声音实验

 

李星宇老师在现场播放了一段音频,这是他在日本冲绳录制下来的一只座头鲸的鸣叫。

。

当时正值交配季节,它们从遥远的寒带千里迢迢游到冲绳海域进行几个月的交配然后再折返。鲸的语言至今为止是个谜,它们用复杂的声音进行交流,就像是歌谣。

 

。

在声音实验中,大家跟随着他录制下的其他声音,又探寻了许多陌生的地方。

 

 

2 - 寻声计划

 

“寻声计划的核心就是记录声音这个行动的本身。”

李星宇老师向我们讲述了他在亚马逊雨林记录声音的故事。

。

告别城市,告别手机,他带领着团队闯入亚马逊雨林中,去探寻更为原始的自然之音。在雨林的每一天,都经历着未知、恐惧、惊喜与前所未有的深刻体验。
在原始丛林的深处,李星宇老师和他的团队收集到了许多异常丰富的原始之音,并将它们带回了现代社会,让我们得以感受到现代文明之外的自然之美。

 

 

3 - 寻声西游记

 

“寻声西游记这一段旅程,我们用倾听交流,用影像记录这片土地的日出日落。”

远赴南美的寻声旅程顺利完成后,李星宇老师带领着团队去往那片被胡杨林和戈壁滩环绕的土地——新疆。

。

在当地记录和发掘那些和中国传统音乐有着血缘关系的古老新疆音乐,及赛里木湖、戈壁滩、胡杨林的独特声音。并给这次的旅程取名为“寻声西游记”。

 

。

李星宇老师提到,唐代雄浑壮阔的音乐多起源于新疆,而如今这些民乐面临失传的危险,这次前去收集民乐大师们的演奏,也正是为了保护及延续这些音乐文化。

 

 

4 - 留在“离海最远的地方”

 

“我并不是要从那里带走什么,而是希望埋下一颗种子,让它生根发芽”

 “寻声西游记”的成果,是一张“只送不卖”的专辑——《离海最远的地方》。

。

李星宇老师将这张专辑永远留在了新疆。

 

。

 

 

5 - 互动回答

 

在互动问答环节,同学们对李星宇老师的“传奇生活”表达了羡慕之情,并向他咨询了相关经验。

。

。

。

李星宇老师并未讲述自己是如何成为一名“音乐人”的,而是告诉我们:一个人永远只做一件事情,那是不切实际的,现当下,我们需要做的是保持思考,不断地去尝试,去认识更多的新鲜事物,去拓宽自己的视野

 

 

 

【演出推荐】

。

海边的一天 | 鲸鱼马戏团2021全国巡演——深圳场次火热来袭

演出信息:11.27 (星期六)20:30 深圳 B10现场 

 

 

 

【嘉宾简介】

。

李星宇,独立音乐人、声音艺术家、制作人、声音设计师、录音工程师、声学空间设计师、音乐教师。

个人音乐人项目“鲸鱼马戏团”制作发行不计其数,以个⼈名义还发起艺术项⽬“52Hz声⾳馆”,旨在发掘“⾳乐”之外的听觉艺术空间,⾸个⼦项⽬“亚⻢逊寻声计划”⼴受关注。2018年发起寻声⻄游记项⽬,在新疆多地记录⺠间⾳乐并打破传统作曲⽅式即兴录制融合⻛格⾳乐作品。07年起,作为声学空间设计师,参与设计录⾳棚及各类声响设施及建筑100余座,遍及中国各地。

 

 

 

【春山雅聚】

春山雅聚是校级系列讲座活动之一,大学将邀请文化艺术等领域有影响力的文人雅士,通过沙龙、讲座等多元化形式,在校园里与学生们进行思想交流,从而产生心灵碰撞。在这里,每个人都可以自由地倾听和表达对世界的看法、对生活的追求,感受到不同个体之间各具特色的人生品味。

 

 

 

大学艺术中心

1

拉近学生与文化艺术之间的距离

让“梦·想”实现