Peng Ke、Zhao Qian

-The 22nd Artist-in-Residence Programme Review-

 

。

The 22nd Artist-in-Residence programme - Play Under the Table was successfully held from June 5th to July 15th, 2021, and four workshops, one lecture, one practical application course, 50 hours of artist clinic, one exhibition ‘Play Under the Table’ and artist-guided exhibition tours were organized during the programme. The students who participated in the programme gained precious experience in the guidance and creation of the artists Peng Ke and Zhao Qian.

In the first workshop, Ms. Dorothy Wong, Director of the University Arts Centre, shared that students are required to meet the standards and keep the same with others in traditional education. However, creation wants difference and self-expression, while the activities held by the University Arts Centre are intended to be a remedy for students, motivate them to bring their inspirations into their academic major, or even their future career, and to become preeminent leaders in their fields.

 

Let's review these scenes together.

 

 

01Workshop Series

 

On June 22nd, 2021, undergraduates and graduates from all majors gathered at TC101 SPACE and Artist-in-Residence Studio at CUHK(SZ), taking part in the third workshop with the two artists.

。

。

。

。

The workshop initiated the enlightenment path from the very first beginning. From Antonioni’s films to Paul Auster’s novels, Zhao Qian inspired students to imagine themselves as the spider - weaving “the drooling of the devil”, ballooning between “familiar objects” and “alien meanings”.

。

。

。

。

。

。

Within the infinite possibilities that the artists gave with the creation themes, students with different understanding of art and disparate creating experience could all have a chance to express their feelings of “familiar objects” through images.

 

 "Art is all around us because it’s an approach to express and explore. In a such simple but energetic campus environment, art facilitates observation, while life triggers inspiration. The workshops in AIR ‘give man a fish, teach him to fish and care about the ocean’. "

——Zhang Xuan

 

 

02【"One-to-One" Artist Clinic】

 

To get students closer to art and understand the real creation process from the artists, "one-to-one" artist clinic was arranged to give students the opportunity for deep discussion and to complete their works.

。

。

。

"I thought the clinic would be held in a more formal way with tables and chairs arranged,  as well as Q&A after the lectures. With anxiety and perplexity of my twenties, I was nervous and had no idea what secret recipe to expect from the “artist clinic”. However, the artists’ relaxed state lightened up our conversation, which was like a friend-chatting. "

——Zhang Guowei

 

"I was completely cured in the Artist Clinic. From installation making to ideas discussion, I could fearlessly, freely, and fully express all of myself in front of the artists. Their careful listening, support, and feedbacks gradually erased my diffidence and doubt about some ideas. "

——Huang Yingyu

 

 

03【Lecture "Play Under the Table——Image Study Group”】

 

The opportunity to communicate with artists goes far beyond that. In the lecture of “Play Under the Table - Image Study Group” on June 28th, the artists Zhao Qian and Peng Ke introduced the working style of image-based artists, their working experience and lifestyles based on their past experience, as well as their stories of how to combine individual creation with projects in business, reporting documentary and education.

。

。

"I feel that I have seen a more real side of the artists. They will also get confused and ponder, and when facing commercialization, they will undergo the process from resisting to accepting. In particular, I found out that Ms. Peng Ke was my high school alumna after chatting with her. It was a magical encounter." She hoped that UAC could hold more such lectures.

                                                                                                                                                    ——Li Wei

 

"Enlighten the imagination of students trapped in the involution, even if it was only a glimpse”. “It was interesting that Ms. Peng Ke drew an analogy between the methodology of artistic creation and cake making. Images, texts, and artists’ personal experiences were also fascinating. I could feel Mr. Zhao and Ms. Peng’s sincerity and charm from between their words. "

                                                                                                                                      ——Zhang Guowei

。

。

。

"Many students attended this lecture, even coming all the way back from outside, which was already surprising and delighting. "

                                                                                                                                           ——Liu Zhuoran

 

 

04Practical Application Course

 

"This workshop successfully enabled the beginners to master the basic functions of using these sorts of software. More importantly, inspired by Ms. Peng, I realized how software and technology could help us better express our subjective, nuanced thoughts and emotions. "

                                                                                                                                       ——Huang Yingyu

。

。

。

。

 

 

05The Exhibition "Play Under the Table”

 

After one-month preparation, the exhibition opened as scheduled on July 2nd. The exhibition includes some graphic artworks by artists Peng Ke and Zhao Qian from 2019 to 2021, sand play device and the unique artworks of the students who participated in the Ballooning workshops to co-create with “images, texts and objects”.

。

。

。

。

。

。

。

。

。

。

。

。

。

 

 

【Students Works】

 

。

Milk Tea Breast - Liu Zhuoran - Inkjet Printing - 40x60cm - 2021

 

。

Time and Space Map-Yu Zhe-Comprehensive Materials-Dimensions Variable-2021

 

。

"Map of Time and Space"

 

。

Cherenkov radiation - Wu Yue, Tang Jiayin - acrylic,

Copper sulfate solution-11cmx11cmx11cm-2021

 

。

Indicator 1-Chen Hongzhou-Art Micro-spray,

3D projection fan-100cmx60cmx18cm-2021

 

。

。

Presentation of a Self-referential Performance-Wang Yifan-Printing Paper-Variable Size-2021

 

。

。

。

Dust spray is a new visual code-Zhang Xuan-

Digital Print-Instant Shot-30cmx45cm-2021

 

 

06Artist-guided Exhibition Tour

 

"Lovely observation angle, delicate light and shadow overlap. We look for rules and break rules. What is left is a piece of frozen time."

                                                                                                                                  ——Yang Chengyang

。

。

。

。

。

。

 

 

【About the Artists】

。

Peng Ke

She focuses on urban experience and image production.

Peng Ke won the Abigail Cohen Fellowship by Magnum Foundation, Fondazione EMGdotART Prize, Hahnemühle New Talent Photography Award, and was nominated for Huayu Youth Award, Foam Paul Huf Award and Jimei x Arles Discovery Award.

 

 

。

Zhao Qian

He focuses on human activities and the environment around him.

Zhao Qian is the recipient of the 2019 Annual Photography Fellowship Awards by Houston Center For Photography and named as a finalist for the 2020 Huayu Youth Award.

Zhao Qian has received fellowships for artist-in-residence programmes held by Points Center for Contemporary Art, The Cow House Studio, Vermont Studio Center and Kala Art Institute.

In 2017, his first monograph "Offcut, the edge" was published by Jiazazhi Press.

 

 

【Play Under】

 

.

 

Play Under is a learning group exploring the language of image cultures. It was established in Shanghai in 2020. The group is committed to providing a relaxing environment for discussion on images and the forms of practice include translation, writing, offline activities, publications, and artists collaboration projects.

"Play under" is to explore the possibility that we treat practice and communication in a relaxed way. It is also self-evident that we are still in an established and relatively closed system. And the image is paradoxical: it seems to be right and it may also be wrong.

 

 

 

【The  Artist-in-Residence  Programme】

In 2016, the University initiated the Artist-in-Residence Programme to create an artistic atmosphere on campus and to elevate student's aesthetic taste. We regularly invite top artists from various fields to reside on campus, create artworks and hold workshops with students. The programme may last 5-10 days or 1-2 months. Artists will work with or guide students to create or appreciate artworks through workshops or lectures. Artists will also take into account resources available off campus to contribute towards our development.

 

 

University Arts Centre

1

To bring students closer to culture and art

To make the"DREAM" come true

彭可、赵谦

-第22期驻校艺术家项目回顾-

 

。

2021年6月5日-7月15日第22期驻校艺术家项目翻面游戏在经过四场工作坊、一场讲座、一场应用实践课、50小时艺术家门诊、一场同名展览以及配套导览后,圆满落下帷幕。本次驻校项目,同学们在艺术家彭可、赵谦老师的悉心指导与亲手创作中获得了珍贵的体验。

大学艺术中心主任黄顺真女士在第一个驻校工作坊时说到,在传统的教育中,学生更多被要求达到标准,保持一致。然而,创新需要的是与众不同,需要表达自我。大学艺术中心的活动,就是为了弥补这一不足,激励同学们把艺术创作的灵感,带入到自己的专业,乃至将来的事业中,成为真正的领域领袖。

 

 

接下来,让我们一起回顾这些画面。

 

 

 

01 【工作坊系列】

 

6月22日,来自各个专业的本科生、研究生聚集在香港中文大学(深圳)TC101空间和驻校艺术家工作室里,和两位艺术家一起完成第三次工作坊。

。

。

。

。

从第一次工作坊到结束,艺术家赵谦利用多种艺术案例,从安东尼奥尼的电影到保罗·奥斯特的小说启发同学们进入创作主题,像“魔鬼涎”下的蜘蛛,自由地滑行在“熟悉的事物”与“陌生的意义”之间。

。

。

。

。

。

。

由于艺术家制定主题时留下了丰富的想象空间,对艺术的了解程度不同、创作经验深浅不一的同学都有机会参与创作,用图像表达对“熟悉事物”的感受。

 

“艺术离我们并不遥远,它是一种表达的方式、探究的手法。在校园这样一个简单又丰富的环境里,艺术给了我们另一个观察的视角,而生活带给我们无尽的灵感。驻校艺术家工作坊,不仅授之以鱼,授之以渔且关切大海。”

                                                                                                                                                                           ——章璇

 

 

 

02 【一对一的“艺术家门诊”】

 

为了让同学们更接近艺术,了解学习艺术家真实的创作过程,本期驻校艺术家项目依旧设有一对一的“艺术家门诊”,创造大家与艺术家深入探讨的机会,并帮助同学完成作品。

。

。

。

 

“本来以为是比较正规的形式,摆好的桌子椅子,讲座后的QA。我有点紧张,带着自己20岁的焦虑和迷茫,也不知道期望从“门诊”中获得什么秘方。但老师的状态很松弛,让对话变得轻松了很多,时间自然流逝就像只是在跟朋友聊天一样。”

                                                                                                                                                                       ——张国玮

 

“我的的确确在艺术家门诊中完成了对自己的问诊,无论是制作装置还是谈论想法,都可以无畏地、自如地、尽情地在艺术家面前表达你自己,他们耐心的倾听、支持和反馈都让我逐渐消除对某些想法的不自信及怀疑。”

                                                                                                                                                                       ——黄颖瑜

 

 

 

03 【“翻面游戏——图像学习小组”讲座】

 

与艺术家们交流的机会不止于此。在6月28日的“翻面游戏——图像学习小组”讲座中,赵谦和彭可两位艺术家从自己的过往经验出发,介绍以图像为主要媒介的艺术家的工作方式、工作内容和生活方式。还有他们如何将个人创作结合进商业项目、报导类纪实项目、和教育类创业项目。

。

。

 

“感觉看到了艺术家更真实的一面,也会有迷茫与思考,也会有面对商业化的抗拒到接受,尤其是彭可老师,和她交流后才知道她竟是我的高中校友,非常神奇的相遇”,她希望艺术中心能开办更多这类讲座。

                                                                                                                                                                           ——李薇

 

“虽然只是匆匆一瞥,也算是对困在主流道路“内卷”环境下的学生一点想象力的启发”,“彭可老师把艺术创作的方法论比喻成做蛋糕着实有趣。图像跟文本以及艺术家的个人经验等也都很有意思,话语之间可见赵谦老师和彭可老师的真诚可爱”。

                                                                                                                                                                       ——张国玮

 

。

。

。

 

“有很多同学来参加这个讲座,甚至专程从外面赶回来参加,本身就很惊喜、开心。”

                                                                                                                                                                       ——刘卓然

 

 

 

04 【应用实操课】

 

“这次工作坊成功地让入门小白掌握了使用这些软件的基本功能。更重要的是,在彭可老师的启发下,意识到软件和技术可以如何作用在帮助我们更好表达自己主观的、细微的想法及情感。”

                                                                                                                                                                       ——黄颖瑜

。

。

。

。

 

 

 

05 【Play Under the Table同名展览】

 

经过近一个月的筹备,在7月2日,展览如期开幕。展览包含艺术家彭可与赵谦的2019-2021年期间部分图像作品,沙盘游戏装置;以及参与Ballooning工作坊以“图像、文本、物件”为材料进行共创创作的同学们独有的作品展示。

。

△开幕现场嘉宾合照

。

△大学艺术中心主任黄顺真女士为彭可、赵谦颁发驻校艺术家证书

。

。

。

。

。

。

。

。

。

。

。

 

 

 

【学生作品展示】

 

。

奶茶乳房-刘卓然-喷墨打印-40x60cm-2021

 

。

时空地图-喻喆-综合材料-尺寸可变-2021

 

。

“时空地图”图册

 

。

切连科夫辐射-吴悦、汤佳音-亚克力、

硫酸铜溶液-11cmx11cmx11cm-2021

 

。

指示标识1-陈泓舟-艺术微喷、

3D投影风扇-100cmx60cmx18cm-2021

 

。

。

一次自指性表演的呈示-王逸凡-打印纸-尺寸可变-2021

 

。

。

。

尘埃喷雾是一种新型视觉密码-章璇-

数码打印-即时拍摄-30cmx45cm-2021

 

 

 

06 【艺术家导览】

 

“可爱的观察视角,巧妙的光影重叠,寻找规则,却又打破规则。留下的,是一张张凝固的时间。”

——杨程扬

 

。

。

。

。

。

。

 

 

 

【关于艺术家】

。

彭可 

城市经验和图像生产是她创作的核心

曾获玛格南基金会和中参馆的Abigail Cohen纪实摄影学术基金,雅伦格文化艺术基金会奖,哈内姆勒新锐摄影奖,并入围华宇青年奖和提名荷兰阿姆斯特丹Foam摄影博物馆Paul Huf Award和集美·阿尔勒发现奖。

 

。

赵谦 

关注于人的行为和周边的环境

曾获休斯顿摄影中心年度摄影奖(2019),入围华宇青年奖(2020),并获学术奖金赴几点当代艺术中心、Vermont艺术中心、Kala艺术中心和Cow House工作室参加艺术家驻地项目。2017年他的第一本书《边缘及边角料》在假杂志出版。

 

 

 

【本期项目学生支持名单】

助教

黄颖瑜 2018级人文社科学院 逸夫书院

 

主持

孔杰绅 2019级数据科学学院 学勤书院

郑熙 2020级人文社科学院 学勤书院

 

摄影摄像

龚雪琪 2020级经管学院 逸夫书院

胥博凯 2019级数据科学学院 思廷书院

晏晓辰 2019级经管学院 思廷书院

杨筱纯 2018级经管学院 思廷书院

曾弘浩 2020级生命与健康科学学院 思廷书院

 

现场协助

张依扬 2019级理工学院 逸夫书院

马代旭 2019级经管学院 逸夫书院

马涵 2020级人文社科学院 学勤书院

黄颖瑜 2018级人文社科学院 逸夫书院

杨程扬 2019级人文社科学院 学勤书院

 

文案

季泽伟 2019级经管学院 学勤书院

 

翻译

曹冉 2018级人文社科学院 思廷书院

 

 

 

【翻面游戏】

 

。

 

翻面游戏是一个基于图像语言的学习小组,2020年在上海成立。致力于提供一个松弛的图像讨论环境,实践形式包括翻译、写作、线下活动、出版物和艺术家合作项目等。

“翻面游戏”即探索我们以松弛的方式对待实践和交流的各种可能性,依旧处于一个既定和相对封闭的系统中亦是不言而喻的。而图像也似是而非,这似乎是对的,也可能是不对的。

 

 

 

【驻校艺术家项目】

为营造大学艺术氛围,培养同学审美情操,从2016年开始,大学推出驻校艺术家项目,定期从全球各地及各艺术领域遴选邀请国际化水准的专业艺术家进驻校园,从事创作并与同学交流。 驻校艺术家创作周期分为两种:短期5-10天,长期1-2个月。驻校期间,艺术家会与同学们共同创作,或以讲座、工作坊的形式指导学生创作与审美。艺术家的创造也会结合校园周边资源,为校园的发展提供创新的尝试。

 

 

 

大学艺术中心

1

拉近学生与文化艺术之间的距离

让“梦·想”实现